Tags

, , ,

I had a super colossal hankering for fried chicken. I didn’t want to jump through a bunch of hoops in an effort to mimic the carby crispy shell, only to be sorely disappointed in my hard work (and no doubt money wasted on various flours that I’d likely never use again.)

I Breathe I’m Hungry to the rescue! Among other things, you’ll find a blissfully simple fried chicken recipe. The only extra flour you need is coconut flour. (I have a feeling I’ll be using it in quite a few recipes. And at $5.49 from BJ’s Wholesale Club for BetterBody Foods Organic Coconut Flour, it’s a bargain! I believe it’s carried at Costco and Sam’s Club as well.)

As for the recipe, I did change it a tiny bit from what was detailed in the original recipe, but the alterations were minimal and due mainly to convenience.

Ingredients

  • 6 whole chicken wings
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp granulated garlic
  • 1/2 c coconut flour
  • oil to fry (I used canola. Sticklers would say to use coconut oil)

In a bowl, mix all the seasonings together. (Not the coconut flour.) Rub and pat the mix into the chicken wings. Put the chicken in a sealed plastic storage bag and refrigerate 2 hours or more.

After you remove the chicken from the refrigerator, dump the coconut flour into the bag over the chicken. Shake it up to make sure all the pieces are thoroughly coated. Heat about an inch or so of oil to 400 degrees F. (I used an electric skillet.) At this time, also preheat the oven to 375. 

Fry the wings in the oil around 8-10 minutes per side. Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet and stick them in the oven for 15-20 minutes. (I added this step because the internal temp of my chicken had reached only 140, so I thought “Better safe than salmonella!”)

Take them out of the oven and let them cool a bit before enjoying!

fried chicken

 I’m no food photographer. It’s just me and my smartphone. The little coins next to it are fried zucchini. I’ll post the recipe for that later. Most of them weren’t that ugly, but those are the ones that were left after everybody kept stealing them off the plate. Maybe T will post her low carb comeback sauce recipe for a dip!

 

 

 

