Tags

, , ,

T here!

Just dropping by really quickly to drop off this fantastical recipe that I found on the web the other day.  I made some minor tweaks, and kinda re-conceptualized it (in my mind anyway), and I’m quite happy with the product! 😀

The original recipe, found on the Low Carb Family website, is called Low-Carb Biscuits, and it can be found here:

http://lowcarbfamily.com/archives/1065 (Sorry if it doesn’t show up as a link, I’m still new to this!)

I figured the 2 tablespoons of baking powder HAD to be a typo, so I used 2 teaspoons instead. I also added a tablespoon of Splenda, because for one, I like my biscuits to be a little sweet, and two, Splenda is one of few sweeteners that actually adds a certain ‘texture’ to baked goods.  You could likely use any sweetener that you choose, but I can only vouch for my results using Splenda.

When I first made these, I was expecting something a bit more, well, biscuit-y.  And so I was disappointed initially.  It’s like when you pick up a cup expecting milk but get orange juice instead.  It’s not that orange juice is rank, but your brain was expecting milk, yes?  Same situation.  These “biscuits” are awesome-sauce– but I had to think  of them differently.  They are (to me) waaaay more reminiscent of corn muffins.  I could have these alongside a big bowl of turnip greens.. yeeeeah.. Anyhoo. Here goes!

Low-Carb Biscuits/”Corn” Muffins

1 1/2 c. almond flour (I used Dowd & Rogers Gluten-Free, as seen in the picture)
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder (I used Calumet)
2 eggs
1/3 c. sour cream (remember to use full-fat, nothing light or fat free)
4 Tbls melted butter
1 Tbls Splenda

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a pan with non-stick cooking spray. (These spread out too much and puff up too little on a cookie sheet. Use a pan with 12 wells.) Mix all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and combine thoroughly. Drop about 2 heaping tablespoons in each well. Bake 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.

The website says these come in at 2 net carbs each (for 12 servings), but My Fitness Pal rated mine a little higher– it may be due to the variations in almond flour, sour cream, etc.  Either way, yum!  I had one this morning with my bacon and eggs, spread with a teaspoon of peanut butter on top!  Mercy. Just.. just mercy.  I could see myself cutting down the Splenda a little bit, maybe adding some cooked and crumbled sausage, cheese, bell pepper.. *daydreaming*  Uhhh, yeah. I’m getting carried away.  In any case, enjoy!  Try these out and let me know what you think!

lowcarbcm1

