Tags

, , ,

Hey guys! How’s it going? Me? Can’t complain! I’ve been doing some experimenting with recipes I’ve found online. I’m not going to post about those that I found to be utterly disgusting (like that cookie puff thing that tasted like artificially sweetened dog kibble), but I will let you know about those that were at least ok.

That brings me to the chili cheese dog casserole. I’m not big on casseroles, but I’m trying to expand a little. LCHF dieting is pretty limiting when compared to the SAD (standard american diet) way of eating, so I figure that variety is the key to transitioning, ya know? And since I’m a lover of coney dogs, why not give this a try?

Anyway, I can’t remember where I first saw the chili cheese dog casserole recipe, but here’s a link to one that is similar to the original. I tweaked it a little bit, as you will see in the instructions below.

Chili Cheese Dog Casserole

1 pound ground beef
2 tbs green onion (because this is what I had on hand)
2 tbs chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon pepper
Salt, to taste
2 tsp yellow mustard
1/4 c canned crushed tomatoes (because this is what I had on hand)
3 hot dogs, chopped
1 extra large egg (because 2 XL eggs just seemed like way too much)
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
8 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 350. Brown the hamburger and onion. Stir in the seasonings, mustard, tomatoes and chopped hot dogs. Spread in a casserole dish.  Beat the eggs, mayonnaise and heavy whipping cream together until it’s all smooth. Pour over the meat mixture, stirring it to make sure the meat is evenly coated. Top with the cheese. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Let stand 5-10 minutes before serving.

20140903_142300 20140903_144703

 

Now I’ll admit that I wasn’t a fan of this. It wasn’t nasty, but it just didn’t do it for me. However, 3 other people ate it and 2 of them loved it. (Both of whom pretty much only like junk food, so if that’s your bag, this might be for you.) I’ll likely only make it again if requested, but I figure it’s worth a post if 50% of eaters enjoyed it.

If you try it, please comment with your thoughts. I’d like to hear. Happy dining!

-J

 

