Hola, all!  T here.

Firstly, let me apologize for my lengthy absence.  I just knew when school really got going, my kids would have me turned every which way but loose.  Still, I’ll try to be more diligent about popping my head in here to check-in. 🙂

J is a gourmet chick (if you haven’t figured it out by now LOL), but I on the other hand, ha-yaaate to cook!  Probably because I feel like I do it all the time.  Cooking and driving, driving and cooking. So when it comes time to feed myself, I’m all thumbs.  I want something quick and easy, to fill my tum-tum with minimum effort.  I suppose I’m a grazer at heart.  If you’re like me, you want a few substantial, yummy snacky-things to get you thru the hump.  So here’s a short list of the things that make my tastebuds and schedule happy!

First thing is the Emerald 100 calorie walnut & almond packs.
emerald
Let me tell you, these have gotten me thru many a snacky-emergency.  They have 3 carbs per pack, 2 of those being dietary fiber, for a grand total of 1 net carb per pack. Delicious! Crunchy, nutty, natural.. just wonderful.  Surprisingly filling.  And we all know how one can get carried away on snacking on nuts.  This way, your snack is perfectly proportioned and ready to go!

Secondly, nothing beats a good ol’ spoonful of natural peanut butter. Remember early on when I said I don’t really miss the bread and/or pasta?  It’s the sweets I miss!  And lordy be, are they everywhere.  Sometimes, I just need a little taste to treat myself.  If I’ve been really good, I eat it alongside some of this:
carbsmart
Now I know how controversial sugar alcohols can be, so decide for yourself on which side of the argument you reside.  For me, hey.  It beats gorging on the real thing! A normal serving size is 1/2 cup.  I only have half that at most.  Together with my peanut butter, it’s a nummy little nosh.  Good for dessert, or any old time!

Another quick and filling snack is the tried and true meat and cheese roll-up.  Admittedly, back when I was a carb-hound, I turned my nose up at such things, LOL.  But now, I honestly can’t get enough.  I like to pair deli-fresh meats with creamy cheeses (like Philadelphia Whipped Cream Cheese), put in an olive or two, or a baby kosher dill pickle, roll up, and munch.  I can honestly say I don’t miss the bread! There are so many different combinations out there, and it’s fun to experiment and see what new flavor combinations I can create.

Naturally, I’ve saved the best for last.  My mouth literally WATERS just thinking about this delicious dish.  I’m pretty sure J has done some variation on this in the past, but here’s my version. I call it Pan Pizza.  Literally, it is pizza made in a pan of sorts.  Yes, we’ve all experimented with the different crusts made from cauliflower, nut flours, etc. No offense to them, but I’ve always found the texture off.  And they take forever to make!  When I’m hungry, I want my food immediately.  So, I got the idea off of one of my LCHF message boards.  Put a nice drizzle of olive oil or a dollop of butter in a small skillet, and turn it on medium.  Once the oil or butter had melted and spread, comes cheese. Any cheese you want!  I prefer to start with the Sargento’s Ultra-Thin Provolone (2 slices), and then layer on a bit of Kraft Finely Shredded Triple Cheddar and Kraft Mozzarella with Philadelphia Cream Cheese.  Let them melt just a little, then toppings!  I use Mids Pizza Sauce (lowest carbs I could find, and it’s yummy!), maybe some diced peppers, and mushrooms!  I am NOT a pepperoni girl.  I let it all bubble and melt, and then remove it from the heat, and gently slide it onto a plate. OMG!  The provolone on the bottom gets a little buttery and crunchy, and tastes JUST LIKE THIN CRUST.  It’s divine!  Better than any other substitute I’ve seen.  Plus, it’s quick and easy!  The whole thing takes maybe 5 minutes.

Those are my favorite go-to’s as far as quick munching LCHF-style.  What are some of your favorite snack suggestions?

