Tags

, , , , ,

Hey guys!

As it stands, I’ve lost approximately 30 lbs since I started on this LCHF journey. Going into it, I knew it wasn’t going to be a way of eating that I could commit to forever for the simple fact that I absolutely adore fruit. Apples, oranges, GRAPES, mangoes, peaches, pears, plums, pineapples…probably the only fruits I DON’T like are bananas, blueberries and kiwi.

In the past, I’ve dabbled with what I affectionately call the “pick it, kill it” diet. If you can pick it and it eat it in its raw form, it’s allowed. If you can kill it, cook it (or not…no judgment here) and eat it, it’s allowed. It’s basically a primal diet in very simple terms. I used to refer to it as paleo, but discovered that, while the two approaches to diet are similar, there are some marked differences. (Read more about it here.) One such difference is that the paleo diet is not too keen on saturated fats. Being on a diet that ENCOURAGES butter and fatty cuts of meat is the main reason I’ve been able to stick this one out. I mean, who doesn’t just love a juicy prime rib served with buttered broccoli?

Photo courtesy of yelp

Photo courtesy of yelp

I’ll also be able to keep avoiding all the things that I’m allergic to (corn, wheat, rice, barley, oats) but feel less restricted since I’ll be enjoying fruits, honey, molasses and such. And because I’m hard-headed and can’t resist the occasional allergen-filled piece of cake, pie or donut, I’ll be aiming at eating primal at least 80% of the time. I just can’t do 100% restriction of anything, allergies or not!

I still have about 20 more pounds I’d like to lose, so I probably won’t start shifting to primal until January or so. (Gotta have some cushion weeks for the inevitable weight gain from my grandmother’s irresistible holiday cooking.) In the meantime, I’ll continue to keep this low carb, high fat party going!

–J

