Tags

, , , ,

wpid-20141014_195313.jpg

Before I get started, let me just say how proud and happy I am for T. She sent me a picture from her recent girls’ weekend trip and she looks AHHHMAAAAAYYYYZING! Get it, girl!

Now on to the food!

Forgive me in advance for not being my normally wordy, descriptive self, but I’m on the cusp of a migraine so I’m just trying to get this down for you super fast while I remember it, especially since we’ve been pretty lame at posting these past few weeks.

Anyway, I experimented today and came up with this very tasty, almost restaurant quality spicy chicken soup. You can alter it to your desired spice level by using more or less of the chili powder and/or red pepper flakes.

Spicy Cheesy Chicken Soup

4 chicken thighs

3 chicken bouillon cubes

1 beef bouillon cube

1/2 small onion, chopped

1 Tbs minced garlic

2 oz cream cheese

1 c heavy whipping cream

2 Tbs chili powder

1 Tbs cumin

2 tsp dried red pepper flakes

salt

14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes*

4 oz can chopped green chiles

2 c shredded colby jack cheese

 

Boil the chicken thighs and bouillon cubes in enough water to cover the thighs. Toss in the onion and garlic. Once done (when the chicken comes away from the bone easily), remove the chicken from the pot and set aside. Whisk the cream cheese into the liquid in the pot. Then whisk the heavy cream in. Stir in the chili powder, cumin, red pepper flakes and salt. Bring to simmer for about 5 minutes.

While it’s coming to simmer, shred the chicken with a fork. (Or, if you’re lazy like me, just pull it apart into manageable chunk sizes.) Once your 5 minutes of simmering are up, add the chicken back into the pot, along with the tomatoes, diced chiles and cheese. Continue stirring until the cheese is well incorporated. Then, get your bowl and spoon and enjoy!

*I used tomatoes with chipotle chiles because I like a bit of kick.

 

