T here!

Okay, so.. if you haven’t already noticed, J is the gourmet on this website.  She’s the one who can go into a kitchen and whip something up out of what she’s got on hand.  Yay!  Me?  Not so much.  But I’ll tell you what I CAN do.. I can take a regular recipe, tweak it and make it LCHF and effing delicious! 😀

Let me say, I GENUINELY love this recipe.  This isn’t one of those, meh, it’ll serve its purpose recipes.  When on this lifestyle, finding a truly tasty way to enjoy the carb-laden foods we used to enjoy, well, it’s a special thing.  Shoutout to loaded mashed cauliflower! LOL

Anyway, pancakes are my favorite-est food.  Period.  Of anything.  So imagine my grievous lamentations when every LCHF pancake recipe I’ve tried has left me wanting in one way or another.  The cream cheese pancake recipe is good in theory, but kinda eggy and flat-tasting to me.  The recipes that rely too heavily on flax or nut flour just.. don’t hit that spot.  This recipe, however, kinda combines the two efforts and creates something kinda freaking amazing.  So I bring you.. Low-Carb Cottage Cheese Pancakes!

lchfpancakes

 

Now I know, they look kinda Frankenstein-y, but trust me.. yum!

1/2 cup small-curd cottage cheese (I used Michigan brand.. least amount of carbs)
1 1/2 Tbls salted butter, melted (If you want to use unsalted, add a pinch or two of salt)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (I used McCormick of course)
1/4 cup almond flour (I used Simple Truth, from Kroger)
2 eggs
granulated sweetener, equal to 1 Tbls of sugar (I used Xylosweet)

Throw it all into a blender, mix well for about 30 seconds, then pour onto a hot griddle (I set mine to 325)!  I flipped mine when they started to steam a little and the top started looking firm.  Maybe 2 minutes or so.  Be careful flipping.  I had to kind of run my spatula around underneath the edges first, and then do a quick flip.  They are mostly done at that point, so let them sit for another 20-25 seconds or so, and done!  Spread with butter (or sugar-free butter flavored maple syrup) and enjoy!  Makes about 8 pancakes, depending on the size.  If you have 2 pancakes per serving, you’re only talking roughly 3 net carbs max, depending on the cottage cheese used!

lchfgriddle

lchfbreakfast

Let me say that 2 was plenty for me, especially when I added a couple strips of bacon on the side.  Totally filling!  They remind me of the cream cheese pancakes a bit, but better.  The flavor is deep and reminiscent of something indulgent.  The cottage cheese really adds something.  And they’re good with or without sugar-free syrup!  Like, this is something I’d eat even if I were still eating carbs.  Imagine what you could do with them.. wrap them up like crepes, stuff them with breakfast meat or have them alongside eggs.  Yes!  I hope you try these and enjoy!

Until next time,

T

 

 

