Tags

, , , , ,

Heeeeey, wonderful reader! J here. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything. The holidays don’t allow much time for anything, do they? In case you’re wondering, I did not stay on plan during the holidays. (I really hadn’t planned to be strict about it, but I HAD planned to do better than what I did.) Anyway, I did still lose a few pounds, but not very many. T stuck to it and continues to do an AWESOME job. (Did she mention how she just said no to cake on her birthday? That’s some willpower right there!)

Anyhoosers…the holidays are over, but there’s still Super Bowl XXXVLMNOP parties to think about. (In case it isn’t clear, I’m not big on the game lol.) That’s where this quick and easy recipe comes in.

So, I may or may not have mentioned this before but…I’m lazy. I like to cook, but if there’s a shortcut that won’t sacrifice flavor, I. Am. THERE. I’ve found that shortcuts and alternatives in the LCHF lifestyle are unsatisfying for ME, so I usually just eat things that are naturally low carb and high fat. I don’t really do alternatives outside of coconut flour because I’ve been let down in the past. Plus, they tend to be more work.

Not the case with this recipe. I’ve modified a recipe that calls for buttermilk with a replacement that’s quick and easy, and you likely have the two ingredients in your house. Heavy whipping cream and vinegar (or lemon juice)! So without further ado, bring on the…
image

Easy Peasy Buffalo Chicken Wings

1/2 c Heavy whipping cream

2 tsp vinegar (or lemon juice)

1/2 c hot sauce of choice

pepper, to taste

salt, to taste

garlic powder, to taste

6 chicken wings

 

Mix the HWC and vinegar or lemon juice and let it curdle to make your buttermilk alternative. (Takes about 5 minutes)

In a zip top plastic bag (gallon size), mix the buttermilk alternative, hot sauce and seasonings together thoroughly.

Place the wings into the bag with the sauce, turning the bag to and fro, making sure the wings are well coated. Let marinate in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

 

Set the broiler to high and place rack on the middle level. Cover baking sheet with aluminum foil and put a wire rack on top.

Remove the wings from the marinade, gently shaking any excess off, and place the wings onto the baking rack.

Broil the wings for 10-12 minutes (until meat starts to pull away from the bones). Remove from the oven and flip the wings with tongs. Put back into the oven for an additional 10-12 minutes.

Remove from the oven and enjoy!

